Navigation Menu
Search

 

Diana RWS 34 Breakbarrel Rifle by RWS

From AirgunArena

Jump to: navigation, search


  • Currently 4.73/5

Rating: 4.7/5 (26 votes cast)

Review this product
3 April 2010  

Author Grind243
Things I liked: The German type iron site is awesome. This gun is well made. Accurate, devastating pellet rifle. This gun is very fun to shoot.
Things I would have changed: It's a little heavy. I don;t get why the safety and trigger are plastic. I would prefer them metal.
What others should know:  I have the .177 cal. I set up at 45 yards and get 2 inch groups with superdomes. This gun is a hard hitter. If you want to kill squirrels, pigeons, grackels or feral cats, this gun is for you. My longest shot was on a grackel at 59 yards (my Leupold golf rangefinder is dead-on accurate). He fell like a sack of flour.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

2 March 2009  

Things I liked: 'xellent allround rifle.Have one in .177 for almost 10 years,have shot tens of thousands shots,have 4 replacements of the spring and the piston seal and it works as new.Scoped it with a recoil proof scope on a medium high dampa mount and can get sub inch groups at 35yds every time
Things I would have changed: A little front-heavy with the diana muzzle-break(a must).I will try 34 ProCompact
What others should know: Get one and let it break in for 500-1000rounds.Then you will have probably the best rifle for the money
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

2 January 2009  

Things I liked: Powerful and accurate right out of the box. Squirrels will fear this bad boy. I really like the post-globe sights , very well made. The back sight is well-made and easy to use, few shots and I had it sighted. The wood is plain but looks excellent. The gun is a little difficult at first to cock, and a little harsh but after the 200-250 rounds I have shot through it, it seems to be smoothing out. Should be a great shooter once you get about 1000-1500 rounds in it. Very sensitive to hold, and it seems to like RWS hobbys and superdomes.
Things I would have changed: The trigger, I have no idea why RWS couldn't just put a steel trigger on it, shouldn't make the gun that much more expensive?
What others should know: 
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

26 December 2008  

Things I liked: Accuracy,and of course, top notch German engineering.
Things I would have changed: Not a thing.Keep up the good work, RWS. Das ist gud.
What others should know: When the UPS man dropped this off at my door,there was a raccoon in my bird feeder, at the back of my property(35 yards).Never having used an air rifle before, I put a bead on him,and blew him right off the feeder!! Talk about a vote of confidence!
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

25 December 2008  

Things I liked: Very Accurate, feels extremely durable, many metal parts, good trigger. I would suggest this rifle for an experienced shooter, or beginner. It's a good rifle across the board and RWS is known to stand behind their products more than anybody else. This was definitely my favorite holiday gift. Great for kids and adults
Things I would have changed: metal trigger blade, although the plastic one is perfectly alright as well. A little heavy once you start putting things on it such as a scope, bi pod etc if you plan on doing so.
What others should know: Great gun, this is a great place to buy. Affordable, quick shipping, great support.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

17 November 2008  

Things I liked: good balance, weight is not to heavy for a shooting session, breaks in quickly
Things I would have changed: Two things I have brought forward, the rear sight can be tightened up to 0 side play with a piece of twisty, just back off the elevation screw, lay a piece across the base and reattach the elevation screw, trim to fit . the rear of the stock is slippery and subject to getting scratches, so I put one of those furniture pads for chair legs at top and bottom.
What others should know: I have the .177 and the .22, on my first outing shooting a field course from to 10 to 70 yards and with only having the 25 yard distance set on the scope my score was 21 out of 60 , very good for a first time ever. the new Leapers scope mount is a must for best performance from a scope it takes care of barrel droop.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

14 November 2008  

Things I liked: Great intro to adult high performance air rifles! It's a hefty but well balanced rifle, well assembled with fairly good sights for my 50 yr.+ eyes!!
Things I would have changed: Drop the plastic trigger and return to metal. Add a more rugged finish and checker the pistol grip. Pressed checkering would work fine.
What others should know: This baby is a bear to cock during the break-in period.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

4 November 2008  

Things I liked: Great price for what your getting....extremely accurate....I've had mine less then 2 weeks....shot about 500 pellets so far....I like everything about this rifle.
Things I would have changed: I'd like it to be available without sights. A butt pad would be a good addition but really isn't needed.
What others should know: I put a Leapers 4-16x50 scope on mine....very pleased with rifle and scope.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

8 October 2008  

Things I liked: love the power for sure i was debating whether to buy this gun for awhile and i'm happy i finally did. This gun is very strong it penetrates my inch thick wooden fence and dents in a metal garbage can all in one shot. I have also equiped it with a bushnell .22 scope which works perfect i have taken down doves, bluejays and magpies with ease. Buy yo won't regret!
Things I would have changed: this gun is a little too heavy and a screw holding the barrel loosens real easy, but overall you don't need to change anything.
What others should know: buy it, for the money its the best gun thier is.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

20 June 2008  

Things I liked: I like the weight, the smooth as glass trigger pull, power, and beautiful stock.
Things I would have changed: I can get over the plastic trigger just because it took me a while to figure out its plastic. You just have to be friendly with it that's all. I am not too thrilled about the plastic safety though I do appreciate an automatic safety especially with a rifle this powerful. The sights are solid and accurate once adjusted (took me about 3 or 4 shots to get it right) though my back drop is usually dark so it is hard to pick out the front sight post. I have heard of people painting the post white which I may try.
What others should know: I have tried these 5 pellet types thus far: Mendoza Hollow points, RWS Super dome, Daisy Wad cutter, Gamo Wad cutter, Crossman Pointed pellets. The most accurate of the bunch was RWS super dome where I was able to shoot the tabs off of pop cans at 15 meters. They had a decent penetration whereas they could easily punch through .5" ply board. The second most accurate was the Crossman pointed pellets which had the deepest penetration of them all. I was able to shoot through a 1.5" phone book and lodge the pellet into the .5" ply board at 15 meters. Next in accuracy was the daisy wad cutter as I was still able to shoot tabs off of pop cans at 15 meters it would take on average 2 shots as opposed to the RWS superdome's single shot accuracy. Next to last was the Gamo, these just weren't accurate at all and I am so glad that I bought other pellets to use otherwise I would think that this rifle was not accurate and would be disappointed. I found the Mendoza pellets to be the worst in accuracy of the whole bunch. They also did not fit into the breach as they are too skinny and would fall out. There were also a lot of discrepancies in skirt and pellet shape. I could never get a pellet on pellet shot with those. I am going to try every pellet RWS offers as I know I won't be disappointed and maybe some heavier Beeman pellets. Make sure you have the right pellet for this rifle otherwise you may be disappointed.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

8 June 2008  

Things I liked: Nice feel of a well made product. Very smooth cocking. I have the RWS 460 Mag, and it is not nearly as smooth to cock as this gun is. It has pretty good power, but mediocre acurracy. The stock needs a butt pad. I try to stand this thing up in a corner, if not on carpet, it slides down the wall.
Things I would have changed: Make all decent airguns tapped and drilled for scopes, or have rails, and send the open sights as an end user installable option. I think airguns benefit from scopes more so than open sights.
What others should know: This is a great first foray into airgunning. It has such a well made feel. Get a good recoil proof scope, and have fun. Try buying some really cheap pellets, shoot it 500 times, then sight it in with pellets that work with it, and enjoy.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

25 May 2008  

Things I liked: Metal polish and bluing are superb matches for the excellent hardwood stock. The factory open sights give a great sight picture. I believe this springer to be an excellent value for the money.
Things I would have changed: This fine rifle definetely deserves a recoil pad.
What others should know: 
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

29 April 2008  

Things I liked: great quality air gun
Things I would have changed: nothing
What others should know: I bought my model 34D 18 years ago for $131.90. It came with checkered stock, rubber butt pad and was all metal. I quess they don't make them like they used to. I have shot about 36-40k rounds thru it over that time and had only 1 problem. A breach seal ( O ring). That was a snap to replace. Accurancy is great. I shoot at empty 9mm cases at 30 yds and hit on reg basis. bench rest of course. Find a pellet that works in your gun and stick with it !!! Reg maintainance is also a must. I clean and lube every 1k rounds or so. that is 2-3x a year for me.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

20 April 2008  

Things I liked: I bought this gun from Pyramyd about 2 weeks ago and it shoots great! I like the sights,trigger, and the wood.
Things I would have changed: I would add a rubber but pad and make the barrel easier to break down you kind of have to slap it to get it to break.
What others should know: This gun shoots great with Beeman Crow Magnums I'm getting dime size groups at 20YDS WITH IRON SIGHTS! I also purchased a BSA 3-12-44 scope. But I havent had a chance to mount it because the B-SQUARE mount i bought was defective and didn't fit the rail. I sent it back and ordered a RWS C-mount it has not yet arrived so I can't realy get the best possible groups. Overall this is a great gun and a great value for your money!
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

11 March 2008  

Things I liked: Quality of RWS, Balance, accuracy and the power in this rifle specially the .22 caliber. Very accurate when using RWS Hobby pellets. It doesn't require much effort for cocking. I am glad I got it from Pyramyd Air they have an excellent service.
Things I would have changed: The front sight for a fiber optic and I would add a Rubber Pad.
What others should know: This rifle has a lot of value for the price.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

27 February 2008  

Things I liked: Power, balance, accuracy, effective range in 22 caliber Fit, finish, overall RWS quality
Things I would have changed: I'd like it even more at 42"
What others should know: Wonderful value for your money. You can't buy more air rifle, at $200.00 Impressive range & accuracy in 22 caliber...a great starter rifle I put a Mendoza Diopter sight to take advantage of the rifles length & long sight radius, also better for my aging eyes...'Man size' air rifle.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

24 February 2008  

Things I liked: Build quality. I have had this gun for over 10 years and while it hasnt seen stead use every week or so in that time it has always been ready to go when I needed it. It was my first real airgun in that it was, at the time a serious weapon to me. Over the years I had broken off the sights by dropping it while on a bike, put in a few dings and such here and there but overall it still is in great shape. Reliable peice!
Things I would have changed: For the price and what this gun is intended for I cant see any faults.
What others should know: Nothing I can think of, This has simply been a reliable, solidly built peice. I cant really comment on accuracy as It only has open sights and up until just a couple weeks ago when I decided to get a more serious air rifle hitting a can 50' away was my definition of accurate. I first got this gun when I was maybe 11 or 12 and I am 22 now and I havent outgrown it.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

11 February 2008  

Things I liked: German made, nice woodstock finish, feels nice and solid and especially the power
Things I would have changed: nothing except it gets a little hard to cock for me.
What others should know: this gun is a very powerfull air gun i love it. its pretty accurate without a scope once you site it in and its a blast to shoot. this is by far my favorite airgun ive ever shot. RWS has made an awsome gun.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

27 January 2008  

Things I liked: Simple, quality product. Easy to use right out of the box.
Things I would have changed: Nothing.
What others should know: Great buy for a novice just getting into the sport. I am new to the sport and wanted a quality product that would last. I spent alot of time reading reviews both on this site (thanks Pyamyair!) and on other websites. I chose the 34 based on pricepoint and RWS because they make a product to last a lifetime. Many of their reviews are from folks who have had the gun for 5, 10, 15+ years. My friend has a 48 and with his help I am shooting 1 inch groups at 30 yards. The offset bore I read in the review above seems to compensate for the breakbarrel and does not affect accuracy. I am looking forward to many years of enjoyment with this rifle.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

17 January 2008  

Things I liked: Great finish and well made. Typical German fashion!
Things I would have changed: Rubber butt pad would be nice. Offer a muzzlebraked version for those who don't iron sight and opt for scopes.
What others should know: Very powerful gun that has a nice tight fit and finish! You have to find the right pellet to make this gun perform as a tack driver. I use RWS Meisterkugeln and Superdomes with Beeman Field Target Specials and JSB Exact's on the way that were told to me a favorite for the model 34! We will see. Great value for a springer and entry level gun!
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

9 January 2008  

Things I liked: Good balance and power
Things I would have changed: Could use a rubber butt pad
What others should know: I think that the RWS 34 Diana Air Rifle has a nice finish, it has great balance, and good accuracy. I have had my Diana model 34 for about 8 years now. It is .177 caliber and does a great job at taking squirrels and rabbits out to 35 yards,(longest distance I have taken game with this rifle). As mentioned in some of the other reviews of springer rifles, this gun does appear to smooth out after a few hundred rounds. ( I have shot about 500 pellets through mine). I topped my 34 with a Daisy Powerline 3-9 variable power scope for about $30. I have shot about 200 rounds with the scope mounted and haven't had a problem with accuracy yet due to the gun's recoil affecting the scope. I shoot 5/8"- 5 shot groups at 20 yards, and I am by no means a rock steady shooter. For $250 total, I have a gun that easily takes small game cleanly and is a joy to shoot. I will never get rid of this gun!
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

27 October 2007  

Things I liked: hardwood stock is a plus, the trigger adjustment, balance, drilled and tapped for scope, left and right hand shooters can enjoy using it. QUIET
Things I would have changed: nothing
What others should know: The Diana Model 34 .177 has consistently put rabbit and squirrel on my table since I purchased and scoped it. The .22 cal, is appealing but doesn't meet the minimum 1000fps requirements of the state I reside in.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

18 October 2007  

Things I liked:  I like this gun i have owned it for 18 years 10 years it mostly collected dust one day reading a gun magazine airguns were the topic in one artical and foot pounds of energy was the thing that caused me to rethink about the airgun so i bought a scope for my model34 and started useing it to kill pest animals that were taking our figs plums and pears some shots were 65 yards for a fact some were longer but i am not sure of the distance.I moved on to dove and quail with this gun the best part was until 3years ago all of this took place in the city some neighbors got really mad when i used a 22 rifle even when i shot cci cb,sso this little model 34 was great it was quiet and the people living around me thought i had given my shooting
Things I would have changed: I would not change anything i am used to diana airguns
What others should know: their are other guns out their but to me diana guns are one of the best.Why i say this is because you know the price going in its a diana some other guns are made by one company sold by another and the price is higher than i would pay.That saidyou get a good product at a fair price,if you do get a lemon this because of what someone else wrote take it back get another one it is a good small game getter.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

11 September 2007  

Things I liked: Made in germany, bluing, woodstock, nice hefty feel, light recoil
Things I would have changed: Quality control, manufacturing tolerances. Rifle I received had the rear of the barrel bored completrly off-center, very close to seal!
What others should know: This is NOT a 'good deal' airgun as you could be lead to think. Far from the idea you'd have of german quality manufacturing. The hoopla is very much on the marketing, not on customer support. Poor purchase.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

2 September 2007  

Things I liked: I like the POWER of the 34. I also like the weight and the adjustable rear sight. Out of the box, my groups were erratic at best, but after about 50 rds the 34 started to settle down and my groups got much better!! I feel once the 34 has passed its break in period it will provide loads of fun.
Things I would have changed: I don't like the feel of the plastic trigger, I wish RWS offered an after market metal replacement. The 34 does have felt recoil, and a butt pad would have been nice.
What others should know: To enhance the accuracy of my 34, the front sight blade is angled back toward the shooter from factory. I tilted the front sight blade more on a vertical plane which gave me a better site presence. I also painted the blade white for a better contrast. I also added a Black Hawk AMMO CHEEK PAD which gave me a no slip surface to rest my cheek on during an afternoon of shooting in the humidity of So Fla. In conjunction with a Butler Creek Deluxe "SLIP ON" Recoil Pad (Medium #50326), I can honestly say with those mods my groups are much better. Less felt recoil, better site presentation and a solid cheek placement only enhances accuracy.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

16 August 2007  

Things I liked: powerful i have the one that was produced one the 100th anaversery with the logo produced one the side
Things I would have changed: more accuracy
What others should know: use this wisely
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

(first | last) View (previous 100) (next 100) (20 | 50 | 100 | 250 | 500)