Navigation Menu
Search

 

RWS Hammerli 850 AirMagnum by RWS

From AirgunArena

Jump to: navigation, search


  • Currently 4.64/5

Rating: 4.6/5 (25 votes cast)

Review this product
19 February 2009  

Things I liked: Powerful, consistent, really accurate. Bolt action is very smooth and positive. I LOVE having an 8-shot magazine on an inexpensive rifle! Nice trigger. Very economical gas usage.
Things I would have changed: Give me wood! Stock is much too light (at shoulder). Plasticky cover at front of foregrip is doomed to fail, not a good arrangement. Magazines (for .22) hold pellets a bit loosely, could be tightened up a bit.
What others should know: VERY GOOD BUY! I know, I gave 5-stars across the board, and obviously, this isn't a 10M olympic grade rifle or a super magnum hunting springer. For CO2, though, 5-out-of-5! I have this in .22 caliber; great CO2 rifle! Really quite powerful, very accurate and consistent, right out of the box. Internals are pretty simple, so changing springs/hammer weight shouldn't be too challenging. Easy to convert to HPA, also. Pretty loud (but most CO2 rifles are). I'm seriously considering getting one in .177 and putting in a lighter hammer and hammer spring for indoor shooting.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

5 February 2009  

Things I liked: Nice look and feel. Great power, smooth bolt action 99.5 percent of the time. Pretty darn accurate as I'm able to hit those daisy shatter blast targets (which are a little smaller diameter than a standard pellet tin) at about 25-30 yards with iron sights. Many shots (apporx. 200) from single air source cylinder. Excellent iron sights. Nice trigger pull and well balanced rifle. Sometimes puts a hole thru those shatterblast targets at 20 yards!! I shoot fairly quick yet still seem to get constant velocity throughout shots.
Things I would have changed: Being that I'm left handed it would be nice to have bolt action on the opposite side of the receiver, given the fact it's advertised as ambitdexrus but oh well just like everything else I can adapt. And like others have stated...The removable fore arm grip which hides the air source capsule has kind of a weak latching system which I can foresee wearing out but time will tell. I would personally compromise fewer shots for more power.
What others should know: For a person like me this is a huge step up from those 30-50$ daisys and crosmans you buy a wal-mart. So I might be a little biased in that sense but I do know quality and this rifle ain't no cheap hunk of steel and plastic. Buy lots of pellets and CO2 and pellgunoil with this rifle and your set for non-stop smiles. Shoot Safely!!
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

19 November 2008  

Things I liked: convenience of shooting in doors 10 meters. I shoot competitively cmp sporter class. This air rifle is a great way to practice when I can't get to the shooting range. This is a one hole gun at 10 meters
Things I would have changed: The trigger is OK but could use some serious improvements needs to break crisper, better adjustments needed. Also sling mounts need to be added. Stock rear sight needs better adjustments
What others should know: RWS Diabolo basic 7.0 gr. pellets shoot great. I've shot just over 1000 rounds no complaints. Scope this gun!
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

17 November 2008  

Things I liked: 88 gram capacity, multi shot,improved 88 gram cover for rifle stays in place and doesn't come off like prototypes did, sights in nicley.
Things I would have changed: I wish it could have more power but if you have a lot of air guns you can use the 850 for pest control and use your more powerful one for humane kills on small game.Ilove this gun and I would buy any updated one that came out. I would like to see a single shot adaptor so one could use the ultra and pointed pellet types for higher velocity.
What others should know: Try various types of ammo I found RWS hobbys,super dome and Beemans domes worked the best so I bought 12 tins of hobby's alone I had no loading jams after I tried the above pellets and I 'll experiment some more.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

16 September 2008  

Things I liked: MOST ACCUIRATE airgun that I own (14 total). With the right pellets this gun will shoot circles around some of the more expensive airguns on the market. You can't find a better all around airgun under $225.00. NOTE: All of the following are EIGHT SHOT groups at 20 yards from bench. PELLET: #1--JSB EXACT Diablo Heavy 10.2 grains--.144 inches. #2--Beeman Silver Bear Hi-Impact 7.1 grains--.701. #3--Beeman Silver Sting Pointed Pellets 8.61 grains--.314. #4--RWS Superdome Field Line 8.3 grains--.893. #5--JSB SCHaK 8.03 grains--.391. #6--H&N Match-Kugelin 7.56 grains--.471. BEST FIVE SHOT GROUP #1--JSB EXACT Diablo Heavy 10.2 grains--.091 inches. My wife loves this gun as it is light in weight and easy to load. The eight shot clip works flawless after break in. We have fired over 1000 pellets thru this gun and it never fails.
Things I would have changed: NOTHING....It would be nice if they would come up with a more expensive version that has a wood stock and better trigger.
What others should know: Use the JSB EXACT Diablo Heavy 10.2 grain pellets for the best results. I had a LOT of flyers with Beeman Silver Bear and RWS SuperDome.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

4 June 2008  

Things I liked: Accuracy! I put a 9x24 power target scope I had on the gun to see what it could do. one inch or under easy for this gun at 25 yards. A very fun gun to shoot. I am retired and I shoot everyday ,this is the first gun I pick up now. I have a stable of good air rifles this one is hard to beat.
Things I would have changed: I wish they made an upgraded version for us old folks who like the feel of wood and steel.
What others should know: go ahead and get a couple extra magazines it makes shooting easier.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

4 May 2008  

Things I liked: I got the .22 cal version. I like everything about this rifle, looks, power, how well it's made, how it feels in hands and it's accuracy. Nice bolt action repeater, I can't put it down once I start shooting it. The video review that pyramid air has on this rifle is right on the money.
Things I would have changed: I would offer a wooden stock for it. And I like to see a bigger caliber version as well, a .25 cal version or 9mm repeater. This thing has to come with an adapter for 12gram CO2 tanks, with this much shooting fun the cost of big tanks adds up. And as always more power would be nice :) make it do 800-1000 fps in .22 :)
What others should know: If you buy this rifle you will be happy with it, it's a keeper. I get about 215 shots till empty on a single 88gram cartridge. There are mods out there to convert it to HPA or except a 9.0z paint ball tank via after market adapter, that set up does not fit under the stock but it works. This gun definitely was build to run on HPA so if you can afford the price range get the dominator 1250.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

2 May 2008  

Things I liked: The feel, the accuracy! The big co2. Really a great gun, the trigger is so easy to pull, it's not tough, very smoth, as smoth as a paintball gun trigger, really easy to shoot!
Things I would have changed: everytime you shoot you have to manually cock the bolt, that doesnt bug me to much, but every time you pull the trigger and cock the bolt the safty comes back on, so you'll have to push that safty back in to fire, you just have to develope a skill for it to do it fast, but i would have done without that auto safty comming back on, it probably comes on because it's such an easy trigger to pull.
What others should know: Nope
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

26 March 2008  

Things I liked: Super knockdown power and feel. Fun to shoot.
Things I would have changed: Not much.
What others should know: I had a problem with the gun jamming with certain types of pellets. Do not have a problem if I load up with RWS Hobby or RWS Super point. The Beeman Silver Bear hollow points jam quite a bit.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

15 March 2008  

Things I liked: Quick back ground- I've been into adult air guns long enough to remember Beeman's first color catalog. My conclusion on this gun - it is pure fun. Not the most accurate, not the most powerful. But a winning combination that will make you smile. The 88-gram CO2 will last and last and the gun is a blast to shoot. Yes, I would of paid more for better quality, but until they make a more upscale model, this will do. I had not cared for CO2 guns since the 1970s. now I can't put this one down. I have it in .22 caliber.
Things I would have changed: Make a deluxe version. I would pay twice the cost for the same performance in a prettier package.
What others should know: Do not point the gun straight up when cycling the bolt, a pellet can fall and jam the action. My best groups were with Crossman premiers. Buy extra magazines. I load 4 at a time at 8 each, and can do that 6 times for 192 full power shots from one CO2 cylinder.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

22 February 2008  

Things I liked:  Smooth-fast-accurate-great power-a pleasure to shoot ! Eight rounds without digging for another. Unreal--I'm looking at a rabbit out the back window right now.....AH !
Things I would have changed: I quess , the stock-like everyone else says too. Maybe they will beef it up a bit.
What others should know: Put the compensator on it & shrink tubed most of the holes ,and now it's deadly quiet. The round makes more noise hitting the target than the gun does going off. I keep the extra mags.' rolled in a small silicone cloth" in front if the CO-2. This weapon is a star. I never cared much for CO-2 guns....but I do now. Fasdraw
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

30 January 2008  

Things I liked: Good value. This is a relatively inexpensive rifle with a decent amount of power. I use mine to dispatch squirrels in my backyard at 30-40 yards. I also like that it's quite -- I have a compensator on mine.
Things I would have changed: A little more power and accuracy would always be nice, but for the price I can't complain. Likewise, a true semi-automatic mode would be nice.
What others should know: Everytime you chamber a round the safety automatically engages. I found this to be a slight annoyance.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

21 January 2008  

Things I liked: love the 8 shot repeater. It's a featherlite, very easy to carry around in the woods for a day. I had a Sumatra that thing was an Elephant gun, its been very beneficial change for myself. relatively cheap to feed. And Very accurate for a co2 rifle.
Things I would have changed: I thought price was a little steep. but I'm also very pleased with the overall build. I would be willing to sacrifice less shots per fill to boost the fps past 655. but It works great out to about 45yds.
What others should know: Beware of the changes in temperature when you go out to hunt, with co2 it affects the overall velocity if it's cold out. I live in WIsconsin and it was snowing hard today, I took it out rabbit hunting and noticed a difference in the amount of shots I would get per fill, and velocity dropped a bit, but nothing horrible. still performed like a top. I found that all rws pellets perform really well. I like the pointed as a personal preference, but my favorite pellet for the gun would def. be jsb exact express. 14.3gr. light and accurate. to get the most of of the 850. .22 cal Overall, could'nt be more happy with the 850.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

17 January 2008  

Things I liked: Accurate at up to 50 yards, very solid build. enough knock down power to kill small birds to squirrels maybe even a rabbit if you place your shot wisely. smooth action.
Things I would have changed: Hollow Stock makes it feel a little off balance but can be fixed with expanding foam. the cover for the airsorce is not very well thought out
What others should know: This gun in .22 produces 18.72 joules of energy with a 14.5gr pellet about the equivalent to .17 at 1000 fps. this gun despite what other reviews say is not a 12 fpe rifle it is a 14 fpe not much of a difference but it is one none the less.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

6 January 2008  

Things I liked: This rifle is full sized and quite rugged. Light enough to carry for extended periods. Plastic is not substituted for metal in the wrong places. Action is quick and smooth when the right pellets are used. This rifle has enough power to do some fairly serious work. No harsh recoil or vibration means I can mount any scope I like. The trigger is plenty light enough to fire this rifle accurately and exhibits a rather long European style (naturally) "roll-off" rather than a crisp "break". All-in-all, a very good trigger. Overall impression of this air rifle is that it would be very difficult to improve much without running the price through the roof.
Things I would have changed: In my opinion, the coarse open sights are not designed for the precision work that this rifle and serious shooters are capable of. The hollow butt stock could be a great place to store the extra magazine(s). The lock time is a bit long, but can be overcome by concentrating on follow-through. The only serious fault I have with this rifle is in the fact that the design for mounting the fore end cap can place a strain on the barrel which totally trashes the accuracy of this otherwise fine air rifle.
What others should know: With the fore end cap installed this rifle did not group very well, and the zero changed every time I laid this rifle down, and picked it back up. With the cap off the groups tightened up to meet my expectation, and my zeros did not change. Groups fell into two categories: "warm" and "cold", as it is normal by nature for a gas gun's zero to change with ambient air temperature and the refrigeration effect of the discharging gas during rapid firing. To me, pellet choice is a no-brainer for this rifle: light pointed pellets. Light because a magnum pellet could be longer than the magazine is thick, causing the works to hang up during rotation. Also, I do not consider this rifle powerful enough to take advantage of the extra weight of a magnum pellet. Pointed, because the rotary magazine (of my rifle anyway) does not index accurately enough to load a precision wadcutter type pellet into the breech without shaving lead, ruining accuracy and possibly damaging the action. Were it that precise, I suspect it would cost a whole lot more money. Pointed pellets will self-center in the breech and chamber effortlessly without deforming. I haven't had a chance to try any domed pellets, but I believe some of them will be OK too. I had an old tin of Daisy Quicksilver (light & pointed) pellets available and they made this air rifle work so slick I couldn't help but smile!
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

8 November 2007  

Things I liked: The main thing I liked about this gun, is the power. This gun is extremely powerful, shooting though a 1/2 in. piece of wood like butter.
Things I would have changed: Well this gun doesn't work good with hollow point pellets, hollow point pellets will jam the gun repeatedly.
What others should know: Safety, be careful with this gun, and be sure to adjust the sight correctly. Good gun overall, very good hunting gun.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

3 November 2007  

Things I liked: everthing it is awesome
Things I would have changed: nothing
What others should know: it takes the giant co2 but you get 300 shots out of it
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

23 October 2007  

Things I liked: Very accurate, relatively quiet, light weight, nice balance of velocity and ease of operation (CO2)
Things I would have changed: Well, this is probably just an abberation and not representative of the quality control of the manufacturer, but the rear sight on my rifle is tilted to the left. I loosened the mounting screw and tried to shift it over but no go. When I tightened the screw, it was right back where it started. I will be sending it in for replacement (of the barrel, at least), as the screw hole is apparently drilled slightly off center.
What others should know: Someone else had mentioned a problem with the CO2 cover, but the one on mine is firmly attached when in place, so I don't know, but maybe this is another quality control problem.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

8 October 2007  

Things I liked: Everything. Great plinker and pest control tool.
Things I would have changed: None
What others should know: Don't get carried away though. It's a 12 fpe rifle at the muzzle in .22 cal. The outer limit would be 50 yards - WITH EVERYTHING ELSE DONE RIGHT! Someone said 80 - 100 yard shots on squirrels and birds? Hm....Forget it. Squirrels and birds need 3 -4 fpe to be dispatched cleanly IF you place that pellet precisely into a kill zone. So beyond 50 - 60 yards you'd have no energy left. Like I said, it's only a 12 foot-pound of energy gun. Be a responsible shooter. If you want real power, go for a Condor or one of the S.Korean PCPs.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

30 September 2007  

Things I liked: Accurate, good shooter right out of box. Not too pickie on type of pellets used.
Things I would have changed: Butt stock feels cheap, add filler and it feels more solid
What others should know: I found it shot better then my springers
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

(first | last) View (previous 20) () (20 | 50 | 100 | 250 | 500)