Navigation Menu
Search

 

by Beeman

From AirgunArena

Jump to: navigation, search


  • Currently 4.20/5

Rating: 4.2/5 (30 votes cast)

Review this product
1 March 2009  

Things I liked: This is a pretty nice rifle amazing power and accuracy, good finish shoot thought a dime as well at 20ft. using pointed pellets .177.
Things I would have changed: plastic sights but they are still good very accurate
What others should know: The scope that comes with it it's pretty good and accurate once u have zero it. It took me some time to zero it but must be I'm not used to shoot with scopes. Standard sight is really accurate as well and has amazing power shoots through a 3/4 inch plywood with ease using both pellets .177 and .22 have shoot over 500 pellets and its like the first day . Scope mount is made from iron so it doesn't move after repeated shooting really easy to mount.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

23 February 2009  

Things I liked: everything was perfect for the price!!! especially the .22 caliber, and not to mention the trigger,which was made beautifully. probably thee nicest air rifle I've bought. honestly words can't describe how perferct this air rifle is. from the aiming to the power all under 140$ Beeman you rock!
Things I would have changed: the red plastic sight on the tip of the barrel. But you don't even need it since the scope comes with it, It took me less 10min. to assemble & adjust the scope. after that I was hitting targets smaller than a 50 cent coin at 30 feet away!
What others should know: Yeah, Get a Beeman!
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

5 January 2009  

Things I liked: The quality and workmanship of this rifle is super, very heavy and solid feel with a beautiful hardwood stock, for the price you cant go wrong, its very accurate and powerful, if you hunt small game this rifle will easily get the job done.
Things I would have changed: nothing!
What others should know: This is a mans rifle not a kiddie toy
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

30 December 2008  

Things I liked: Accuracy and Power
Things I would have changed: The red fiber optic on the front open sight can fall out. I heated a nail head (while holding it with pliers), and touched it to the end of the fiber optic rod expanding it so that it could not fall through. This corrected the problem. Out of the box the rifle shot very high right. Once I got the sights adjusted, it is dead on accurate up to about 45 yards. The barrel had a lot of cosmoline in it. Once I cleaned the bore the power and accuracy both increased. The sights should be metal, not plastic. I have not tried the scope but am comfortable with the open sights.
What others should know: 
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

15 November 2008  

Things I liked: I take back some of the things I said previously. I jumped the "gun." I like the way it looks and handles. Previously I hadn't mounted the scope because of bad past experiences. But, I added a one piece scope mount and started using the scope. My accuracy went through the roof.
Things I would have changed: I would change the scope mounts to a one piece like Gamo did on some of there models. One piece mounts should become the standard in springers. They should come with the gun.
What others should know: Get you a one pice scope mount before you sight in your scope in, you'll have a wonderful varmint/ small game hunting rifle.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

7 November 2008  

Things I liked: Beautiful stock and overall look is great.
Things I would have changed: I would change the sights. The fiber optic piece fell out the front sight somehow. These rifles should be sighted in before they ship them out. I had a time sighting in and I am still not satisfied with the accuracy. At 20 yds, some pellets hit intended target and some don't. I've only used the .22 cal. barrel so, it might be different in .177. I didn't try the scope yet because my experience w/airguns have been bad with scopes. You get it sighted in and then the scope moves on you or the recticle starts turning.
What others should know: This gun is heavy (10 lbs.). So make sure your plenty strong. It is also hard to cock.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

28 October 2008  

Things I liked: Ultra gorgeous gun! Most powder guns don''t look this good. hefty, and fits together in a snap, sighted well, and after a few shots the break action is much easier. The case is great. After reading how it was bad, I was scared, but it's worth it! I was concerned that I'd have to take the scope off every time I put it away from the pix here, but it fits back in there just fine scope attached and I use the scope velcro to hold a plano box with my ammo. It''s quiet too. I could here the splat/squish when I took out a groundhog.
Things I would have changed: Hate, hate hate that it has plastic sights on the barrels. I can see they aren't going to last but with the scope, I may not care when they do break off.
What others should know: At 100 feet kodiak pellets splinter through a 3/8" plywood board! I had to put bricks behind it to save my barn. Groundhogs, not a problem with headshots.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

24 October 2008  

Things I liked: .177 & .22 what a concept! I was so excited, like getting 2 rifles for the price of one & from a good name brand air gun company no less.
Things I would have changed: Cheek rest on stock too high for me. Can't use the open sights or the supplied scope comfortably. Plugs on side of stock fall out easly. large beeman badge on side of stock kinda tacky. VERY HEAVY.
What others should know: After I added a raised red dot scope the problem with the cheek rest went away. nice power at .177 & .22 cal, kinda picky on what pellets are more accurate.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

23 September 2008  

Things I liked: Interchangeable barrels (.177 & .22). Easy assembly and ready to shoot. Cocking at first is hard but I guess I kind of got my style and it got easier to break it for shooting.
Things I would have changed: Overall the package is good. The 2 plastic screw cover comes off easy and and can get lost if in the woods, I suggest a screw on type or just make the screw hole exact for install or removal instead of making is big then use cheap plastic that just pressed on and comes off easy when using the rifle. Front sight is a bit high and when sighting using open sight, it's ackward due to the rifle but cheek rest is high due to the high profile of the front sight. It would be beneficial if the front sight is held by a set screw instead of glued for easy install of muzzle brake for future mod. Stock grip is on the FAT side and would want it shaved of for full gripping when shooting.
What others should know: Needs to zero in rifle after each change of barrel. Trigger pressure can be customized with a small flat head screw driver. Got mine trimmed to long fist stage then crisp 2nd stage, this gives me a tight grouping at 20 yrds. I used locktite blue on fasteners I down't want coming loose while shooting.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

18 August 2008  

Things I liked: Right out of the box without even mounting the scope, I was shooting 2" groups at 30 yards. With the scope mounted and sited in and myself getting familiar with the riffle, I can shoot 1" groups all day long. The quality of workmanship is surprisingly very good and the interchangeable barrels fit very tight and secure.
Things I would have changed: The front sites are kind of cheap and broke the third time I fired the riffle but with a scope there is no need for the front site and I replaced mine with a Beeman muzzle brake.
What others should know: The ability to change barrels is really handy but unfortunately every time you change the barrels you must site in the scope. All in all this is a small inconvenience considering you are getting two riffles for the price of one. I was really surprised at some of the negative comments about this riffle on the web and was hesitant to purchase this rifle. But with Pyramyd Air's 30 day return, I figured I couldn't go wrong. I was pleasantly surprised with the riffle and have no plans of returning it.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

27 July 2008  

Things I liked: haveing two barrels is very excelent,especially if you also have 2 sight types in case they do not sight the same when you change them,i set up the 177 cal with the fixed sights,and the 22 cal with the scope,for the price this gun is great,it has a good rifle feel to it ,it has good wieght and a thick gunstock,it seems to be made well,and has the trigger safety that engages automatically once youve cocked the barrel into the full stroke position, that lets you safely load the barrel when you when your gonna latch it without worying as much about the trigger setting off the piston prematurely and causing the barrel to flip into the lock position while bringing the barrel back up possibly causing serious harm to the handler .
Things I would have changed: (the 177 barrel is perfect) my 22 front sight was very very slightly turned favoring the right .also looking down the inside of the 22 barrel it looked choked slightly,i think its due to factory installation of the front sight somehow, i think this is why the barrels sight so differently even using the same wieght pellet i think they'd be off a bit, i wouldve liked to have seen a threaded pin haveing a bead with a hole drilled it it and a piece of the fiberoptic bonded in the hole,(drill the hole parralell and center to the barrel after threadlocking the pin)and be sure the set screw pit that locks the barrel is 100% 180 degees so the pin is straight with the rest of the gun,also id change the soft case to have an inner foldout to make it full length so the user dont have to break the barrel if not wanted,and add a inner pocket for two pellet containers.and mayby include a chart for minimum to maximum (gun dammage proof) alowable pellet wieghts to distances so the user can get a better idea of the guns ability.
What others should know: with the included scope this gun is deadly accurate,once you have set it to the ranges you shoot at. i took a huge male adult groundhog in front of the ear and it went out the other ear,right to the hair of where i wanted it,within an eighth inch.useing beeman siver ace pellets,at 20 yards,that groundhog moved forward about 3 inches,rolled over,and that was it. i hold the front of the grip and pull the gun into my shoulder, with the rear stock firm to my shoulder,while the gun is rested on the center of the front grip (this keeps the gun extreamly steady for me),keep your eye behind the scope at the same exact place every time you shoot,and take a breath and hold it,so as to steady yourself a few seconds before you shoot,with those 4 things in mind,((shoulder tight, gun rested, sure eye place, and take breath )),you will probably be extremely accurate.(dont forget to push the trigger safety forward before your last step)stay sure and steady,AND BY ALL MEANS BE ABSOLUTELY SURE WHATS BEHIND YOUR TARGET,IM PRETTY SURE THIS GUN MAY SHOOT UP TO OR BEYOND 100 YARDS.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

29 June 2008  

Things I liked: Weight, balance, "feel". Good workmanship. Xlnt Accuracy in .117 caliber Trigger pull adequate for a rifle in this price range.
Things I would have changed: Front sight mounting for green plastic light-gathering insert either need to be thicker ot the sight needs a hood with a hole in the top for light or else thick plastic 'ears" on the sides to protect it. First time out, the little plastic neon insert must have got bumped and broke and fell out. I wasn't even aware of it happening so it must have not taken too much of a "bump" to break it Rear sight numbers correspond to nothing and there is no indicator mark to show changes in windage or elevation. What I would change would be to eliminate the non-optical sightrs altogether and include a better scope with the package, preferably one with two sets of cross-hairs calibrated for point of aim of both the .117 and the .22 caliber barrels.
What others should know: The two different caliber barrels do not shoot to the same point of aim. The 22 barrel shot 2 inches lower than the .117 barrel with the rifle I have and there was not enough adjustment left in the scope after sighting it in with the 117 caliber barrel to compensate for the difference.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

29 June 2008  

Things I liked: Beeman has its name on it...so even if it is chinese...and what isn't??? Beeman wouldn't brand it if they couldn't achieve acceptable quality control. Occasional crap is expected when shopping for best price/performance and this rifle is tops in price, performance, and utility.
Things I would have changed: Trigger force is on the edge, the front sights are complete...well they leave allot to be desired
What others should know: The difference between sights on the two barrels was way off and one barrel had a partially broken sight. I couldn't deal with windage being all jacked so ended up grinding off the stock front sight(s) and then used devcon plastic epoxy I built up a block of plastic and proceeded to dremel away material until windage and elevation of both barrels was within 10 clicks of each other and the sight(s) looked. Natually I pulled the gun from its stock to inspect and lube all the pins and found that I could adjust the trigger effort and bingo!!!! I could put a pellet in the same hole (give or take 1/8") at 40'
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

20 June 2008  

Things I liked: Heavy weight, pretty nice scope, great open sights, two rifled barrels, nice safety in front of trigger, good case.
Things I would have changed: The trigger.... Its way to hard to pull and hit everytime on target.
What others should know: If you buy this RS1 Pellet Rifle for yourself, 1000fps, and you buy your 12 year old boys the Beeman 1024 break barrel 550fps, when they shoot yours they want it instead... even if it's to big for them. So just buy an extra one and save time and money buying another later...
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

29 May 2008  

Things I liked: Nice weight...not "toy" light like many others. Was getting 1" offhand groups at 15yds right out of the box with the first few daisy precision max .22 pellets. Haven't tried the .177 barrel yet,but expect good accuracy. China didn't strike out on this one....we'll see how it holds up.
Things I would have changed: plastic sights...but OK for the price.
What others should know: Don't use particle board as a backing for your targets. With the 22 barrel and flat points, they will come right back at you after making a 1/4" indentation. ALWAYS WEAR SHOOTING GLASSES OR PLASTIC PERSCRIPTION LENSES.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

14 May 2008  

Things I liked: Im a left/right hand with this airgun...mostly right handed using it. I like the feel of it i'm use to the recoil I barely had enough money to buy it I also love the accuracy and the scope range and ballistic tip pellets + this airgun is unmatched don't know the exact Fps. but its powerfull.
Things I would have changed: If I had the technoligy I would help to create a Beeman sport supressor lower the sound on it because over here is a neighbor that made 34 comlantes about other air gun owners so thats why they moved someplace else...
What others should know: DON'T Shoot near nagging/comlaning neighbors please....
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

5 May 2008  

Things I liked: Overall Value. Accuracy is superfantasic after you get acquainted with the trigger and as long as you can hold it still. Nothing compared to an R9 or a R7 but you can't beat it for the price. One of the best Entry level rifle packages out there. Scope, the choice for Dual calibers and a case. This package is very friendly to beginners. Solid feel, Hold other rifles at this price and you'll see that it stands out. It's a Beeman design, might've been made in China but it's at the top of the list for a China made rifle. Nice little stow away bag. Perfect for bringing your air rifle to and fro.
Things I would have changed: Again it's made in China. After you get acquainted using this Rifle, "made in China" really stands out. Starting with Plastic sights. I haven't dropped this Rifle but I'd be deathly afraid to being that the sights are plastic. The sights are super accurate but also super fragile. Trigger guard and Trigger are also plastic not as vital as the sights but still you get my point. Smoothness of Trigger is as smooth as a 5'oclock shadow.
What others should know: Like said many times before every rifle is as fairly unique as a fingerprint. So spend alot of time shooting. After shooting over 3 types of Pellets so far I've found that the Beeman H&N Match Wadcutters to be the most accurate. Shoot whatever you can get and find out what works for your rifle. Prepare to hold this rifle fairly tight. Like mentioned before it will dance around on you after you pull the trigger. Also note that I've dialed everything in on .177. I've yet to use the 22 caliber barrel. I prefer not to since I find .177 works for all of my needs. The scope is a fairly decent scope for what comes in the package..... I would like to have a better system but it ain't broke. I would recommend this entry level shooting package to anyone who is looking to do some practice shooting in their spare time and defending your property of unwanted pest. For those who are looking for a tournament/shooting competition Air Rifle to pass down to your grandkids.. stop kidding yourself and shell out the $$$ for an R7.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

4 May 2008  

Things I liked: its nice. a bit large for kids. nice gun. good for shooting the squirrels out of a second story window, that come and raid my birdfeeders.
Things I would have changed: the two barrels........ would be nice if you could get only one. my screw starts to come unloose after about 30 shots.
What others should know: my .22cal always seem to hit a bit low after 20yards but its fine
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

4 May 2008  

Things I liked: Nice solid stock with a good butt pad. Easy cleaning and quickly changes barrels. Good scope mounts. I can hold a 1" pattern with the .22CAL at 20 yards after getting used to the double recoil from the spring. I can keep a 2" pattern with the .177 at 45 yards. This is one of the best single shot rifles I have ever used.
Things I would have changed: Plastic trigger feels kind of week. Both front barrel sights fell off after the first few shots. Butt pad has extra long lower point sticking down, Tends to get caught in clothing and also rolls over causing some discomfort when shooting. Nothing a knife and some sand paper wont fix. A bit heavy for long term shooting. Especially when waiting of just the right shot.
What others should know: You will need full scope adjustment after changing from the .177 to the .22 cal.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

2 May 2008  

Things I liked: Very powerful and accurate. Great looking rifle for the money.
Things I would have changed: Please put a round guard over the front fiber optic sight. Very easy to break, especially if you are in the woods.
What others should know: I almost always use the .22 cal. It can take down 15 pound iguanas with one shot. I prefer to use it without the scope; sights are very accurate.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

17 April 2008  

Things I liked: Stock looks and feels good, adult sized. Will be large for kids. Pretty good power. Price is OK.
Things I would have changed: Barrel retaining screw does not like to stay tight for more than 10 shots. Scope is not the quality that I expected. We have some older Beeman scopes of the same model and they work great. These do not work well at all. Cocking effert feels higher than advertised, but I did not measure it.
What others should know: This is an OK gun but I will not get a dual barrel combo again. It is a lot if work to keep this thing shooting straight. We use it on an airfield to remove birds with 9 other pellet guns. The Gamo Hunter 220 & 890 are both better guns for this amount of money in my opinion. If you can afford an RWS Model 48, get it instead. We have a Beeman GS1050 that is great.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

8 March 2008  

Things I liked: The gun had a nice wooden stock. although it is made in china the quality is preaty good. i also liked the case, eventhough many people said isnt wasnt of good quallity. It is perfect for hunting. bareles were very easy to change, and looks very nice.
Things I would have changed: the scope was terrible, the front sight is flimsy.
What others should know: This gun was better then i expected, it isnt very accurate with the open sights but packs alot of power in both of the caliber sizes. i also didnt have to adjust the sights much when switshing the bareles. It is nice for hunting my first day i got three birds and one squirrle
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

28 February 2008  

Things I liked: i just got the gun today and only had time to play with the open sights. the front sight was off to the right when the barrel was locked in. minor cause im gonna use a scope anyway elevation was good but even after cranking the windage all the way to the right, it still shot right about 2 inches to the left. i used kentucky windage on it and was doing 3 shot one hole groups. it was at about 15 yards. i will not be using the beeman scope that came with it cause i like more adjustment . i put a center point 3x9 and will sight it in this weekend. i only wanted this gun for the 22 part of it. i have a crosman storm xt in 177 and am totaly happy with it. i put threadlock on the set screw so it will not loosen. i will update after i try the scope. i cant wait
Things I would have changed: trigger adjustment, more quality control on the set front sight alighnment
What others should know: it says 2 stage but i dont feel it. just sqweeze really slow and steady and you will get used to it.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

23 January 2008  

Things I liked: Looks/performs good overall. Tested .22 at 15 yds w/scope and will hit a dime sized bullseye 3 out of 5, 2 barely outside target. Scope not good enough but just right considering the price of this combo. Could be just got lucky I got a good one from a good production batch. LOL.
Things I would have changed: Plastic rear sight to metal, not much of a concern since will use scope all the time.
What others should know: Make sure to give the retaining screw a good enough torque, otherwise barrel comes loose after a dozen shot or so, check the retaining allen screw from time to time and keep allen wrench handy. A good buy in my opinion, price wise.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

7 January 2008  

Things I liked: Great power, and good solid feel
Things I would have changed: grip should be checked ,as well as forearm
What others should know: Great value for the price, good first gun (This is my first spring gun)
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

9 November 2007  

Things I liked: Good price. Nice finish on the stock.
Things I would have changed: 
What others should know: Not as accurate as I had hoped. Have to adjust rear sight all the way right but could only get just shy of being on target. Hard to sight in scope. Groups about 3 1/2 " at 25 yds after 400 pellets. Finish on barrel starting to rust where hand pulls on barrel. would stick to the models made in Spain.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

19 October 2007  

Things I liked: I like the wood stock.
Things I would have changed: The factory open sights are usible with the .177 barrell on. With the .177 barrell accurcy was not great because about every third it would throw a flyer about 2 inches to the right and 2 inches low. With the .22 barrell accuricy was very good but the rear sights did not have enough adjustment to get the pellett in the center of the target at 20 yards. Groups with .22 barrell were very nice just high and left. I have only shot this rifle 75 times or so and have not had the chance to try the scope. All the litature that comes with the rifle states that it takes 500 or so shots to break it in. Hopefuly the flyer with the .177 barrell will dissapere once the rifle is broke in.
What others should know: 
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

24 September 2007  

Things I liked: Very nice expensive look, great wood finish and metal looks great. Scope is very nice for the price of a combo. Barrels are very easy put put on and case is a nice touch.
Things I would have changed: Definitely a different safety, extremely hard to turn on and off, hard to pull trigger, All this metal on the gun and plastic trigger guard makes zero sense.
What others should know: This is a good buy for a beginner, might be a good thing to learn to shoot witha hard trigger pull.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

11 September 2007  

Things I liked: I like the beautiful stock and very good finish on metal. I love my scope, but the regular sights are green and red luminating sights, I also believe in the quality of this brand to last me a longtime.
Things I would have changed: I 'd change the trigger, it's very hard to pull, and the wieght of this arm maybe offer a sling.
What others should know: Plenty of power and with my scope I can hit a two inch sq. two out of three times at 30 yrds., but its not easy compared to a lighter arm and trigger.
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

26 August 2007  

Things I liked: BEAUTIFUL GUN! Great finish,nice ID markings w/ BEEMAN label accents. Feels solid.
Things I would have changed: Stock with buttpad is a little too long. The plastic trigger guard should be metal. The safety is too hard and loud to switch to fire mode.
What others should know: This gun is tight and responsive with great kick because of its power.NICE!!!!!!!!!
Overall rating:
Value for money:
Accuracy:

(first | last) View (previous 500) (next 500) (20 | 50 | 100 | 250 | 500)